Pecan and Parsley Pesto

I had a potluck at my house last night with a healthy Italian theme.  Pesto is a great appetizer to eat on bread and vegetables.  I wanted to make a more local pesto with what was in season.  The pecans in the CSA share were beautiful and they inspired me to make the following.  We ate it on carrots, celery and crusty bread.  It was very easy to make and I actually whipped it up while my guests were arriving.  Enjoy.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Pecan and Parsley Pesto

By Amy

1 bunch of local Parsley

1 handful of local Pecans

3 or 4 cloves of Garlic (or more of roasted garlic)

1/4 to 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Olive oil to mix

Salt and Pepper

Place all ingredients, except olive oil, in the food processor and open the top pour spout.  Turn on the machine and drizzle the olive oil in slowly.  It will move in the food processor more quickly when there is enough olive oil.  Taste and add any additional salt and pepper.  Enjoy.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Pecan and Parsley Pesto

  1. I love to make pestos out of different ingredients that come in my Csa!

Leave a Reply

