Salad with Apples and Radishes Recipe

Apples and Radishes and Grapefruit…Oh My!  I love the winter citrus, stored apples and spring radishes and my refrigerator has a bunch of them.  I have a crisper bin of apples and three bunches of beautiful radishes.  My friends and family give me great ideas for recipes.  This one came through my dad, who loves radishes!  He would put twice as many on the salad because of the crunch and zippy taste.  (He would also love to have three bunches of radishes and would eat them as raw snacks.)  I will tell you the recipe below.

The grapefruits are so delicious.  They will last in your refrigerator for a while if you keep them in the crisper.  I eat half for breakfast and half as a dessert with a little sugar. I love to tell people about the CSA and amazing local food.  Giving food to my friends and neighbors is a great way to let them see (and taste) for themselves.  Grapefruit has been my gift to friends this month. Maybe this could be an idea for you as well.  I actually did have a friend join this week.  Welcome Glenna!

Here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Salad with Radishes and Apples

From Amy, dressing adapted from Eating Well

1 head of lettuce (I used greenleaf lettuce from LPO)

1 cup of Italian parsley

1 bunch of Radishes, sliced thin

2 Apples, sliced thin

3 stalks of Celery, sliced thin

handful of local Feta Cheese

Dressing: (1/2 ripe avocado, 3/4 cup non-fat yogurt, tblsp of mayonaise, 2 scallions, 2 cloves of garlic, handful of parsley, 1 lime, pinch of sugar and salt.  Blend until smooth.

Shred the lettuce and mix with other ingredients.  Add the dressing to individual servings as it is thick.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

