Week of Meals 2/17 – 2/22/11

This week’s CSA share included whole wheat flour so Dena encouraged us to bake this week.  Breakfast is an important meal for me.  I try to include protein and a fruit or vegetable every weekday.  This rules out most grains as I usually eat veggie scrambles or yogurt with fruit.  But the weekends provide slower mornings and healthy versions of waffles, pancakes or french toast.  Local whole wheat flour helps my goal for the added whole grains and fiber.  I have listed my favorite waffle recipe below.  It makes eight waffle squares so I usually share four with my boyfriend and keep the rest in the fridge for quick snacks throughout the week.

We also received carrots this week so I thought of CSA member Zahira’s carrot cake.  I will post that on the blog this week so that you can enjoy it.  The cake is predominately carrots, but you would never notice that with the moist texture and other treats like raisins and a little cream cheese frosting on the side.

Send me your favorite baking recipes at blog@beneficialfarm.com

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

CSA Share

Sunny Sprouts, Carrots, Apple Butter, Whole Wheat Flour, Pomegranate, Grapefruits

Week of Meals

Saturday: Omelette with sprouts, cherry tomatoes and feta cheese

Sunday: Waffles with strawberries and orange butter (see below)

Monday: Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Topping on the side

Tuesday: Spiced Whole Wheat Pumpkin Bread with Apple Butter

Whole Wheat Waffle Recipe

By Amy adapted from several magazine recipes

Here is a quick and healthy recipe to enjoy on a weekend morning.  The hemp seeds were recommended as a great source of Omega 3 fatty acids so I began experimenting with them.  They are great in baking recipes and also smoothies.  I recommend keeping them in the refrigerator like other flours to extend their life and keep them fresh.

The reason that I wanted waffles this weekend was to enjoy the first California strawberries.  I know that they are not a local New Mexico food, but my parents lived on the central coast for several years and looked forward to the late February berries.  I think that we ate as many strawberries as waffles!

1 cup local whole wheat flour

1/2 cup unbleached, all purpose flour (for texture)

2 tblsp hemp seed

1/2 cup wheat germ

2 tblsp brown sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt

3/4 cup 1% milk

3/4 cup plain, non-fat yogurt

3 Mesa Top eggs

2 tblsp almond oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

cinnamon to taste

Add all dry ingredients together and whisk.  Add all wet ingredients together and whip until blended.  Add together.  Makes eight waffle squares.  Enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Week of Meals

Leave a Reply

