Week of Meals 1-14 to 1-18

This week I will continue the week of meals.  I hope that this meal planning post will help you determine your recipes with the CSA food during the week.  It also helped me review my pantry and freezer along with the CSA share to plan my dinners.  I like having healthy choices planned for the week.

The Hubbard Squash has such a consistently thick texture, smells rich as well as being sweet as pumpkin pie.  It is often used for pies because it mimics the pumpkin pie color and sweet flavor.  Many people eat this squash simply by roasting slices and adding a little brown sugar and butter for the last 10 minutes of cooking.  I cut the squash into five smaller wedges with a sharp knife and I was very careful.  The hubbard is a tough squash!  This allowed me to roast it on a sheet pan at 425 degrees for about 30 minutes.  I will use some this week in a stew and freeze some for later.  Roasted squash freezes very well.

We received pinto beans so I will be working with a pressure cooker to get a great texture in our high altitude.  I learned about the differences with dry beans in our climate when I moved here and am still working on perfecting the recipe.  Please send any tips that you have for cooking dry beans to blog@beneficialfarm.com

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Week of Meals

CSA Share

5 lbs Yukon Gold Potatoes, White Mountain Farms

1 Hubbard Squash, Gemini Farm

1.5lbs Pinto Beans, Atkins Farm, Estancia

1.5lbs Red Stripe Apples, Cider Hill Farms

1.5 lbs Frozen Apricots, Mesa Top Farm

1 Heidi’s Raspberry Jam

Week of Meals January 14 – 19

Friday: Apricot Chutney and Chicken Pizza

Saturday: Tilapia with roasted potatoes and Citrus Quinoa Salad

Sunday: Hubbard Squash and Pinto Bean Stew

Monday: Quinoa with apples for breakfast

Tuesday: Shredded beef and mushroom tacos, Pinto Beans and Red Chile Salsa

Leave a comment

Filed under Week of Meals

Leave a Reply

