Week of Meals 1-7 to 1-12

Happy New Year!  I hope that you all had wonderful food and great company of friends and family.  November and December are always a time that I test new recipes for holiday meals and of course holiday sweets.  I buy unusual ingredients and skip from pot luck to party without a lot of planning.  January usually brings me back to a more structured way of shopping and meal planning and I want to share that part of the process with you.

My friend Leah showed me her process of planning meals and shopping lists each week on a calendar sheet that is posted on the refrigerator.  She started this habit as a chef and carried it into her personal life.  I think this will be helpful to me in using our CSA ingredients and planning healthier shopping lists.  I have been posting our weekly share under a blog menu, Twitter and on our Facebook pages on Wednesday and that will continue. Why not recap the weekly share and what I plan to cook in a Friday blog entry!

Here is my first Week of Meals post with the future recipes that will appear on that day highlighted in green.  I will post the recipes the day that I will make them to give cooking advice and tips. My menu is for two adults.  The winter shares have food that can be stored so I probably won’t use both pomegranates or all the carrots, but they will both store for a few more months.  I like to freeze soup for a quick meal on some future night when I can’t decide what to make for dinner so that is the plan for the greens soup after Friday.

I welcome comments and feedback from you.  I would love to hear your tips for planning meals.  We also post any member recipes on Saturday so please send those to blog@beneficialfarm.com

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Week of Meals 1/7 to 1/12

CSA Share

7 oz Salad Mix, Agricultura COOP

1 Small Bunches Collards, Mesa Top Farm, Santa Fe

2 lbs Potatoes (fingerling), White Mountain Farm

1.5 lbs Carrots, Gemini Farms

1 lb Quinoa, White Mountain Farm

1.5 lbs Winesap Apples, Cider Hill Farms

2 Meyer Lemons, South Texas Organics

2 Pomegranates, Shiraz Vineyards

Week of Meals

Friday- Greens Soup using the collard greens, salad and a side of roasted potatoes

Saturday- Red Chile Carrots, salad, leftover potatoes and salmon burgers

Sunday- Quinoa Bread, leftover carrots, broccoli and beef

Monday- Honey Lemon Apple Jam on quinoa bread for breakfast

Tuesday- Pomegranate Spinach Salad (using 1/2 pom), Curry Chicken Pizza

Wednesday- Cranberry, Pomegranate, Lemon Relish on turkey breast, salad

Leave a comment

Filed under Week of Meals

Leave a Reply

