Potato, Collard and Celery Curry

The russet potatoes from this week’s share have a creamy texture that make a wonderful addition to warm curry dishes with other vegetables.  Last night, I started thinking about the origin of curry in England before the 1700’s when it was first documented.  The potato is an English staple so it turned dinner in the direction of what was called “currey” as a gravy sauce.  I enjoy inventing curry sauces and have heard a lot of history on the early English curries as flavorful sauces without much heat as chili was not an Indian staple at the time. Now you can get very hot curries in many parts of the world.  Go to Wikipedia to get a basic background of curry from all over the world.

Here is my “CSA” curry with some of our great vegetables from the week.  I used one of the red chili peppers to spice the curry and it worked well.  We like things spicy in New Mexico!  I served it with a salad from our wonderful lettuce mix.  Send me ways that you like to eat curry or any of the CSA veggies of the week.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Potato, Collard and Celery Curry

From Amy

1 russet potato, peeled and diced

2 stalks celery, sliced

1 red bell pepper, diced

3 collard leaved, sliced thin

handful of arugula, sliced thin

1/2 lb of chicken sausage, not in casing

CURRY

1 small onion, diced

2 or 3 cloves garlic, diced

3 tomatoes, diced

fresh ginger, grated

1 dried red chili, ground

Salt & pepper

Equal parts of these spices: cinnamon, cardamom, peppercorns, cumin, turmeric, coriander seeds and mustard seeds.

I started with two pans to get all the ingredients nicely browned.  The chicken sausage was in a saute pan with olive oil.  The diced potatoes were in my dutch oven with olive oil, salt and pepper.  I turned them on all sides to get a crisp skin around the creamy middle so that it would stand up in the curry dish.  Add celery, bell pepper and the cooked chicken to the dutch oven with a little more olive oil.  I added a little water to the bottom of the pan to scrape up the browned yummy bits.  Turn the heat down to low and add a lid with a small air space to help saute and steam the vegetables.

There actually was another pan involved to toast the curry spices!  I place all of the dry ingredients into a pan and roast until I can smell them.  Don’t leave the immediate area when you have them on the heat as burning will cause you to start over and ruin the spices.  I have a coffee grinder dedicated to spices so I use that to grind them, but you could also add to a food processor that is easier to clean.  Use the chicken saute pan to cook the onion, garlic, ginger and tomato with the spices for about 10 minutes to get good flavor started.  Add the sauce to the dutch oven and stir.  Add the greens and throw a handful of water over the top to help them wilt.  Replace the lid and let cook for about 2 minutes.  Stir and enjoy with crusty bread to sop up the curry sauce.  That is an English tradition as well.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipe

4 responses to “Potato, Collard and Celery Curry

  1. I found your blog via my blog subscriptions and I really like what you’re doing here! We’ve got slightly different growing seasons here in Austin, but it’s a lot of fun to see what’s sprouting in New Mexico this time of year. Keep up the great growing and writing!

    Kathryn

    • beneficialfarmscsa

      Thank you Kathryn. We are lucky to have a year-round CSA with lots of unusual local foods to explore. Your blog is very informative and I love your recipe for Apple Persimmon Compote. Can’t wait to try it.
      Amy

  2. Linda Young

    Made your recipe tonight—it was delicious! I did make a couple variations. Definitely used 3 big cloves of garlic; 1 tablespoon of each of the spices you suggested;added a couple chopped up green tomatoes which I seem to have an abidance of; instead of the red bell pepper I used a big long red pepper from our garden and because it was a bit spicy I didn’t add anything else hot. Added coconut milk at the last and since I had omitted the chicken sausage (I forgot to get any!), I served it over quinoa. It’s yummy! Thanks for the suggestion! You’re are right the potatoes are melt in your mouth this way! And I never thought of adding arugula….it’s great!

    • beneficialfarmscsa

      That is so great to hear! Thank you for measuring the spices. That is one area that I can’t seem to master when I am creating a meal. I like the quinoa addition. We felt that there was a grain missing from the meal. Thanks for your comments and keep sending me cooking tips and recipes.

Leave a Reply

