Pecan, Pear & Raspberry Salad

The Mesa Top Farm lettuce mix is still going strong, but I know that we will enter our colder fall weather soon so I am making more complex salads to enjoy it.  Raspberries are also still in season in Northern New Mexico and many farms have pick-your-own fields.  I have friends that are making jam and tarts with the fruit, but I love to have them raw in my salads.  Bosque pears also go well with the tart raspberries.  Here is a quick recipe for a special weekend salad.  Enjoy.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Pecan, Pear & Raspberry Salad

From Amy and her sister Holly

My sister and her son love raspberries.  I spent this weekend with them and my nephew asked for more raspberries at each meal.  This salad has some quick tips from my sister.

Lettuce mix for two salads

6+ Raspberries for each salad

Pears, cubed

Handful of pecans for each salad

Asiago Cheese, shredded

Lemon juice and zest

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1 tsp Honey

Olive oil

Salt & Pepper

Tear the lettuce with your hands to keep a rustic feel to the salad.  The pears should be cut the same size as the raspberries.  I keep the skins on the pears.  Add the grated Asiago cheese.  A hard cheese could be substituted such as parmesan or feta in small pieces.

My sister has a tip to toast the pecans in the toaster oven.  It is faster and does not require the oven to heat up your house in the afternoon.  She also uses a raspberry vinaigrette from the store or her CSA to save time.

If you are making a dressing, add the lemon zest, lemon juice, Dijon mustard, honey, salt and pepper and whisk together.  Add the olive oil slowly, while whisking, until the dressing is smooth.  I use tongs to mix the salad in the same bowl as the dressing.  Add the raspberries at the end.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Pecan, Pear & Raspberry Salad

  1. alice lee

    recipe sounds great.
    I made pear, cranberry, almond crisp this morning. Use p.313 of Laurel’s Kitchen, Diane’s apple crisp.

Leave a Reply

