Root Vegetable Review of the Storage and Recipe Plans

One bag of carrots set me over my refrigerator root vegetable storage this week.  It was time to do some review of all my vegetables.  I do a good job of eating the smaller quantities each week, like kohlrabi.  It is the carrots, beets and yellow turnips that I still have waiting in my fridge.  Maybe you too have root vegetables that need attention and an eating plan?  Let me know your tips.

My first step was to pull all produce out of the shelf.  There were multiple pounds.  I looked through each bag to check individual items.  Root vegetables will store all winter, but some may have more wear and tear and could rot a good bag of food.  I sorted out beets that were softening.  Everything else looked good .  I combined bags, such as two half-eaten bags of carrots that can be grouped into one.  I found the white carrots and was surprised because I had forgotten about them.  This started my cooking mojo going for dinners this week.

Dena  provided a white carrot recipe below.  Wish that I still had a parsnip.  Below that recipe is my version of the root vegetable casserole that Kym posted in January.  I have talked to many members that made this dish from the rutabaga, parsnip and potatoes.  It is a good recipe.  I found that the potato consistency was a little more done than the harder rutabaga/parsnips so I altered the boiling.  Cheese is always good to add so my twist has two creamy cheeses.  Enjoy.

Caramelized White Roots by Dena

Peel and cut into 2″ julienne pieces
3 white carrots
1 large parsnip
Slice one large onion
Heat a large skillet; add 1 T oil and 3 T unsalted butter and all vegies.
Stirring often, cook over medium/medium low heat until onions are dark golden brown, about 30 minutes.
Turn off heat, season with salt and coarse black pepper. After one minute, add 4T Balsamic vinegar and toss.
Good hot or room temperature.

Winter Root Vegetable Bake from Amy

Adapted from Allrecipes.com that Kym posted in January

3 potatoes

2 parsnips

1 rutabaga

chicken stock to cover veggies

1 tsp dried thyme

1 bay leaf

2 tsps herbs provence

1 sweet onion

1 tblsp butter

Almond oil

A few chunks Gorgozola

½ to 1 cup goat cheese crumbles

Peel and chop potatoes, rutabaga and parsnips.  Place parsnips and rutabagas on stove with chicken stock, thyme and bay leaf and let soften for 20 minutes.  Cut the onion into slender strips and sauté in butter, almond oil and herbs provence.  Add the potatoes to the veggie mix and let all of them become tender, but not mushy.  Drain.  Mash together in a baking dish.  Add a little gorgonzola and goat cheese within the mix.  Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under Member Tips & Recipes

3 responses to “Root Vegetable Review of the Storage and Recipe Plans

  1. Duskin

    I have heard that root veggies and onions will store very well in an insulated, beverage cooler (such as a Coleman type cooler) in a cool, but not freezing place, such as a garage or crawlspace. The fairly low temps of a household fridge might actually be overkill for some root crops. In the old days, houses had root cellars that were not as cold as a modern fridge.

  2. marion seymour

    I need recipe for Kohlrabi
    Joy of Cooking says should be “young” are these young.

Leave a Reply

