Beet Soup Recipe

Beets were a great vegetable to receive last week.  They will last for a month or two in the refrigerator inside of a bag, but I wanted to eat some this week.  Most of my favorite beet recipes are for the summer when I grow beets in my garden.  The following one seemed more appropriate for winter.

Thank you to Carole, Alice and Jackie for sending me more tips on the potato corn chowder that I posted last week.  I made mine thicker with an immersion blender and added green chile, which were great ideas.  The turnips would have been a great idea as I made the soup.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Beet, Apple and Carrot Soup

I like to make beet soup for the beautiful color!  This one will work with roasted beets or raw beets, you will just need to adjust the cooking time.  My soup has a southwest twist with red chile for heat and apple for a sweetener.  My friend Angie first showed me a similar recipe in a book called Feeding the Whole Family by Cynthia Lair.  I highly recommend following her cooking videos and blog as they focus on local food with a fun twist.  Click here for her website.

2 or 3 beets (I will use 3 from last week’s share), peeled and diced

1 medium onion

3 cloves garlic

2 large carrots, peeled and diced

2 apples, peeled and diced

1 tsp dried oregano

2 tbsps red chile powder

3/4 cup red lentils (they need to be red to work as a thickener in the soup)

Beef stock to cover the vegetables

If you start with raw beets, add them to the stock pot and cover with water.  These will need to boil to soften a little before you start the soup.  I usually start with roasted beets because you don’t have to peel them until they are roasted and the skins are easier to remove.  This keeps my kitchen cleaner.  If using raw beets, use a separate pan to saute the onions in almond oil.  Add the carrots and saute a minute or so.  Add garlic.  Add this mixture to the beets.

If you start with roasted beets, you can begin with the onions, carrots and garlic in the soup pan.  When they are sautéed, add the beets.  Add the apples and let soften.  Add the oregano by placing in your palm and rubbing to release the oils.  Add the red chile.  Now you can add the stock and the lentils.  The idea of the lentils is to thicken the soup as they will dissolve within about 30 minutes.  I usually let my soup simmer for about an hour.

Once everything is dissolved and you like the taste of your soup, you can turn off the stove and let cool slightly.  I use a blender to make the soup smooth and a super hot soup scares me…especially since it is red.  You may have to blend in multiple batches because you don’t want to over-fill the blender.  After it is a good consistency, you can heat to serve.  I usually eat with sour cream and a warmed flour tortilla.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

