Butternut Squash Recipes

Butternut squash has a lovely, sweet and nutty taste.  I usually roast it in the skin and make soup, but my sister has convinced me to step out of the “easy way” and cook individual cubes for soup, stir-fry etc.  There was quite a buzz on the blog last year for butternut squash and I received several soup recipes.

This is my favorite winter squash for the meaty, but soft texture.  I think the cube idea is great and have a few tips below.  I may even post my sister’s soup (when I get the recipe) which has other veggies and a nice light broth.  While I feel all squash is very healthy, this one is high in vitamin A.

Steaming Butternut Squash

This requires that you remove the skin of the squash.  I usually use a pairing knife for these jobs, although the squash is larger and this could prove to be dangerous for me. I hear that you can use a large vegetable peeler to remove the skin and that seems like a safe option for my fingers.  Once the skin is removed, it will be easier to cut down into cubes.  Make sure they are bite sized cubes.

Steaming is a good option to retain all the polyphenols and antioxidants that can be removed by boiling or high heat.  The squash cubes can steam for 7+ minutes, depending on what you like for texture and what you are making.

Using Butternut Squash Cubes

Here is a recipe for Kale and Squash soup.  You could use any type of winter squash, but I feel butternut would be great with a sweetness to counter the kale.
Click Here for the link

Food & Wine featured Vegan dishes this week and this is a vegetable curry with butternut squash cubes.  They are cooked with all the other veggies in the sauce.
Click Here for the link

Roasting Butternut Squash

If you want to roast, here are a few recipes:

Vegan Roasted Root Vegetables from www.eatdrinkbetter.com

Roasted Squash from www.closetcooking.com

3 Comments

Filed under Recipe

3 responses to “Butternut Squash Recipes

  1. Thanks for all the food links, Amy! I found a good sounding recipe for soup that I will try. Soup makes me happy!

  2. Thanks for the links! Here is a recipe for a couscous that contains roasted butternut squash, zucchini, and carrots. http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/moroccan-couscous/

Leave a Reply

