Garlic Sauce

Carole noticed that I mentioned garlic sauce in my post last week about garlic.  She wanted the recipe to keep in her fridge.  I thought that was a great idea.  I have mentioned in previous posts that garlic is one of the best foods to fight disease and cancer.  I have read books from Europe and Canada that have studied food as medicine and garlic is always the top extract that works to fight these cells.  One of these is Foods to Fight Cancer and was recommended by several people as a starting point for a good diet and prevention from lots of other diseases as well.

Keep in mind that I love garlic so you could change the amount for your taste.  I usually make a few types of sauces that have mostly garlic and then a few other ingredients to go with the meal.  You can eat it on chicken, fish or vegetables.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Asian Garlic Sauce by Amy

3 or 4 cloves of garlic, minced and smashed into a paste
1 tblsp soy sauce
1 tsp rice vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp ground ginger
water to make a smooth sauce (don’t worry, there is a lot of flavor in this sauce.  You could also use more soy sauce or oil in place of water)

Place all ingredients in mason jar and shake.  You could increase the quantities to keep in the fridge for about a week.  Drizzle over vegetables, fish or chicken.

Italian Garlic Sauce by Amy

4 or 5 cloves garlic
1/2 cup diced onion
2 anchovies packed in oil
1/3 cup roasted red peppers, pureed until smooth (you can also buy pepper sauce)
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
Chile flake to taste

Sautee the onions and then add the anchovies.  They will dissolve in the heat and you can press them into the pan as they heat.  Add the garlic.  When you can smell garlic and they are not brown, add the chopped red bell pepper and allow to saute for anout two minutes.  Add the pepper sauce and chile flake and allow to simmer for 10 minutes.  This is a thick sauce that can be used over vegetables or meat.  I usually grill chicken breasts, add the sauce, a little grated cheese and place in the broiler to melt.

I have also added bacon to this sauce to temper the flavor of the anchovies.  I can never taste them, but some people smell the fish and do not want to eat the sauce.  Another idea is to add more garlic!

4 Comments

Filed under Recipe

4 responses to “Garlic Sauce

  1. Kym

    Wow, the Italian sauce sounds delicious! It would be great over pasta–just add a bit of broth and/or olive oil. I think I’ll be trying that this week. Thanks, Amy!

    • beneficialfarmscsa

      Thank you Kym. I have been so focused on tomatoes that I wanted to get away to another flavor in the sauce. You always have great ideas so let me know what you think. I love recipes that can improve each time they are made.
      –Amy

      • Kym

        Well, I made it tonight and it was excellent. I doubled the recipe, and I added the chopped red pepper before adding the pureed pepper, to get a little saute going on them, as well. I pureed the pepper with just a bit of olive oil to loosen up the sauce for pasta. I tossed the sauce with a half pound of farfalle (bowtie pasta) and some Parmesan-Reggiano, and it was perfect! I’ll be making this again, for sure.

  2. realitygirl

    Sounds delicious. I like the modifications for pasta. A different taste from my standard tomato-based sauces. Thanks for sharing your ideas!

Leave a Reply

