What to do with my food this week?

We have been receiving great shares of fruits and veggies and I am looking for new ways to use my food.  One thing I have been doing is planning recipes for the week to see what we will eat.  This helps me focus on the food that I have.  Any food that I may not use I either process and freeze or give to my neighbors.  They all love the CSA!

I receive the best cooking tips and ideas from members so keep them coming.  After I posted about zucchini, I received ideas from Alice and Marielle from the Petite Chef blog.  Alice had the great, straight forward tip to cut the zucchini into rounds and saute with butter, then add tomatoes.  I love the go-to tips that I can make if it is a busy day.  Marielle’s blog is a wonderful list of photos with beautiful food photos so check it out at http://petitechef.wordpress.com.

This week I wanted to share my food plan with you.  It is a longer entry, but keep scrolling down to see what I plan for the items on our CSA list.  Let me know what you did with your share at hetager@hotmail.com and I can post.  I have a friend that is a chef and she does this planning each week with a calendar page posted to the fridge.  I have a sweet tooth this week so the fruit recipes have a nice touch of sweetness to them.

–Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Zucchini from the Petitechef blog

I plan to go Italian this week and make both of these dishes since I still have zucchini.
http://petitechef.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/zucchini-ribbons-with-parmesan-roasted-red-peppers/
From Marielle: That ones a little different, but tastes so delicious, I never thought of using zucchini in place of pasta, but it healthier and just as tasty!
Another zucc vs pasta is the lasagna:
http://petitechef.wordpress.com/recipes/zucchini-sausage-lasagna/
From Marielle: Use with or without sausage, but you basically make and layer this just like regular lasagna. YUM-O!

Fennel
You can see a lot of fennel recipes by searching in the right column.  I have created a simple slaw for this week and it was easy and delicious.

Fennel Slaw by Amy

Fennel

1/2 napa, savoy or green cabbage

Asiago Cheese Salad Dressing or your favorite salad dressing

Chop the fennel and cabbage into thin strips.  Add salad dressing.  Toss and enjoy. 

Pears
My wonderful friends and family sent a lot of fruit baskets and one was a lovely basket of pears.  I am still eating my way through the very ripe ones and went looking for my favorite pear muffin recipe.  This one is cool because the pear is sticking out of the top and it is fun to make.  Muffin baskets also make great presents and I can provide some to people that have helped me these past few weeks.

Ginger Pear Muffins from Better Homes and Gardens Magazine from my mom
1-1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp ground ginger (I have used fresh ginger diced very small)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2/3 cup molasses

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup boiling water

2 small pears

3 ounces dark chocolate, grated or broken into small peices

raw sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.  In large bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  In a second bowl, whisk together molasses, butter, brown sugar and egg.  Pour into flour mixture and stir until combined.  Whisk in boiling water.  Divide into the muffin cups.  Cut the pear into wedges and place one wedge in the side of each muffin.  They will stick up and roast in the oven and make an interesting looking muffin.

Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until a clean toothpick can be inserted and comes out clean.  Sprinkle with raw sugar and chocolate.  Cool 10 minutes.  You can smooth the chocolate.

Apples
I also have more apples than normal and gave some away to my neighbors.  The ones that we received this week are nice and sweet.  I like to make an apple sauce that I have written about before (search for apples in the field on the right).  I also eat plain greek yogurt and like a little sweetness added.  The apples are awesome for this breakfast. 

Even Easier than Applesauce by Amy
I peel the apples with a pairing knife and dice them fairly small.  Place in a pan and sprinkle cinnamon over them.  Cook on medium heat for 30 minutes.  You don’t even have to puree.  Just store in the fridge for the yogurt. 

Peaches
To be honest, I gave the peaches away this week so I probably will not make this recipe, but I have made it last summer and just forgot about it!  The directions note that you should keep the skin on for an additional boost of fiber.  I saw this and immediately cut it out.  You mean I don’t have to stand and peel peaches???  Love it.

Peach-Blueberry Cobbler from Shape Magazine
6 medium peaches, halved and thinly sliced

1 cup blueberries

3 tblsp sugar, you will also need 1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup quick cooking oats

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3 tblsp butter

1 6-ounce container vanilla yogurt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Arrange peach slices in the bottom of an 8-inch baking dish. Place blueberries on top of peaches.  Sprinkle 1 tblsp of the sugar and cinnamon over the fruit and let marinate.  In large bowl, combine flour, oats, 2 tblsp of sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Mix well.  Add butter and mix with a fork until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  (I use very cold butter and kitchen shears to cut very small slivers of butter.  This helps to literally cut in the butter). Add yogurt and mix until the dough comes together.  Spoon 6 large spoonfuls of dough on top of fruit in baking pan.  Sprinkle remaining tsp of sugar over dough.  Bake 45-50 minutes, until the fruit is tender and oat topping is golden brown.  Let cool for about 10-15 minutes before serving.  Top with vanilla frozen yogurt, if desired.

Cucumbers, Bok Choi and Red Onions
This is a good way to have cucumbers keep in the fridge.  Make sure that you simmer the sauce until the vinegar taste is gone.  It will take longer in our high altitude.  I made this last night to go with a stir fry of the bok choi, red onions and chicken.

Spicy Cucumber Salad with Peanuts from Cooking Light 

4 cups cucumbers (about 2 large) cut into slices with the seeds removed (I cut the cucumber lengthwise and then take a pairing knife to make V cuts and remove the seeds)

2 tsps kosher salt

1/2 cup rice vinegar

1/2 cup water

3 tblsp sugar

1/4 tsp red pepper (or more to taste)

2 tblsps minced red onion

1 tblsp chopped peanuts

Place cucumber slices in a colander, sprinkle with salt and toss well.  Drain one hour.  Place on several layers of towels to remove moisture.  Let stand 5 minutes. Combine vinegar, water, sugar and peppers in small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and cook until reduced to 1/3 cup (about 10-15 minutes).  Remove from heat and let cool.  Stir in onion.  Combine cucumbers and vinegar reduction in a medium bowl and toss well.  Sprinkle with peanuts.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What to do with my food this week?

  1. Pingback: Pear Recipes for the Fall « Beneficial Farms CSA

Leave a Reply

