I have a lot of zucchini and need new recipes!

I am back to writing the blog and posting your recipes and cooking ideas.  Thank you for all of your thoughts, cards and phone calls while I was out.  I was in the hospital for about a week and my garden pumped out tons of green and yellow zucchini while I was gone.  Add that to the CSA zucchini and my friends that brought it from their gardens left me with a nice amount to cook.  I needed some new ideas for recipes because I usually make a casserole or grill it.  The casserole recipe is below too.  My parents were in town to help me and they had some great ideas for recipes.  Below are some easy recipes if you have lots of zucchini or just need to shake up your cooking.  Keep scrolling down to see the whole post.  They are actually pretty basic, but I had never thought of them so they are new to me and maybe new to you.  Let me know what other recipes you use at blog@beneficialfarm.com and I will post on the blog.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Grilled Zucchini

This first one if typically what I do with zucchini.  I find that if I cook it right when I get it, then I will eat it throughout the week.  I slice the zucchini lengthwise so I have long strips.  I place in a bowl and drizzle a small amount of olive oil in and rub it on the veggie with my hands.  I sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Grill on both sides so there are grill marks and it is soft.  I typically cut into a smaller dice and then save in the fridge.  I can add this to salads cold, to pasta, to stir frys and soup.  It makes it easier to add once it is cooked.

Zucchini Casserole by Aleta and Amy

I learned this recipe and technique from member Aleta last year.  She has a wonderful garden with huge zucchini plants and told me this recipe.  It is very easy and quite smart if you make rue on the stove.  This seems like a magic rue that happens in the oven all by itself!  This is the casserole I made for the Eldorado Food Group meeting as well.  You can size it for the number of zucchini and baking dish that you have.

3 yellow and green zucchini

2% Milk

Butter (you will use a small amount)

Flour

Dried oregano

Dried pure garlic powder

Parmesan cheese

Bread crumbs

Olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Spray a baking dish with cooking spray.  This can be any size dish to fit the amount of zucchini.  Cut the zucchini into thin rounds.  Lay the rounds in the bottom of the baking dish.  Here is the rue technique.  Cut very tiny pieces of butter for every 6 rounds and place on top of the rounds.  Sprinkle a small amount of flour over all the rounds.  There should not be clumps of flour or a major amount.  Gently pour a small amount of milk over all the rounds, butter and flour.  There should not be pools of milk but it should rest on the rounds.  Take 1 tsp of dried oregano in your palms and rub back and forth over the whole dish.  Sprinkle a small amount of garlic powder, salt and pepper as you will be adding more in another layer.  Add the second layer of rounds.  Add the third layer of rounds and repeat the rue process and spices.  The third layer will melt down to the second layer to keep it more dry and cohesive.  Add the fourth layer of rounds.  Add grated parmesan cheese (I use a very small grater or rasp/microplane). Add the fifth layer of rounds.  Grate cheese into a bowl and mix with bread crumbs.  Drizzle a very small amount of olive oil on the top of the rounds.  This will help brown the top and give it lots of flavor.  It is important not to have too much oil or the casserole may not magically make the rue and will be soupy.  Add the bread crumbs and cheese to the top.

Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.  Serve with a spatula.

Zucchini Hummus from the Gastro Kid Cookbook provided by my mom

1 cup of chickpeas

1 zucchini

1 clove garlic

1/4 cup parsley, with stems removed.  I take the parsley in one hand and shave them.

1/4 cup basil leaves

1/4 olive oil

lemon juice to taste (about 1/2 lemon)

salt and pepper

Cut the zucchini into smaller pieces.  Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Enjoy with pita bread or crackers.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake! from Epicurious from my dad

This is a great recipe where you will not even taste the zucchini, but receive all the health benefits from the veggie.  If you have ever baked with zucchini you know that it makes the dish very moist.

Click here for the recipe

Zucchini Raisin Muffins

I made this recipe with a few zucchini.  These are not sweet muffins, but have a good texture and raisins and walnuts that you actually taste.  You would never know zucchini is in them and I did not even peel it.  I made a few modifications to the recipe listed below.

1- I used kamut flour instead of bran from Bob’s Red Mill.  This is a whole grain gluten-free flour that is a little heavier, but makes baked goods creamy.  You could mix with other gluten-free flours as well.  This recipe mixes whole grain (I used white whole grain), white all purpose flour and bran.  I use King Arthur Flour for these two because it seems to have a higher gluten content and I am not necessarily always baking gluten-free.

2- I reduced the butter by a third and added applesauce

3- I made a diced apple sauce with the CSA apples and cinnamon and I added about 1/4 cup for extra flavor and texture. To make, I diced 6 apples very small and added to a pan with cinnamon to cover. I cooked on low for about 40 minutes, stirring frequently. It keeps in the fridge in a closed jar.

Click here for the recipe

“Zapple” Crisp from Health Magazine, adapted from the Garden-Fresh Vegetable Cookbook

I read this recipe a few years ago and turned up my nose.  A vegetable with sugar and spices???  I cut it out of the magazine and saved for almost a year before I tried it.  It actually tastes great and if you peel the zucchini it looks like apples.  I bet if you did not tell people what was in the crisp they would never know.

6 cups zucchini, peeled and sliced in quarters

1/2 cup lemon juice (about 3 lemons)

3/4 cup brown sugar, divided

1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger (I added a little more)

1 tblsp cornstarch

1-1/2 cup rolled oats (non instant)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter or coconut oil

Lightly oil a 9-inch pie plate.  While the oven preheats to 375 degrees, simmer the zucchini and lemon juice in a medium saucepan.  After 15 minutes when the zucchini is soft, add 1/2 cup of brown sugar along with the cinnamon and ginger.  Cook for 5 minutes (I cooked on low).  Remove a few tblsp of liquid from the pan.  Dissolve the cornstarch in the liquid.  When no lumps remain, return the liquid to the zucchini and stir.  Move the zucchini to the pie plate.  Mix oats with the 1/4 cup brown sugar, salt and butter until mixture becomes crumbly.  Spread the oat mixture over the zucchini and bake for 20 minutes until the top is brown.

Zucchini and Feta Quiche

This is a great blog that posts recipes many times per week.  This happened to be the recipe for today and I liked the brown rice crust and flavor combination of feta and zucchini.  I have not tried it, but will with this week’s CSA zucchini.
Click here for the recipe

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I have a lot of zucchini and need new recipes!

  1. I ❤ Zucchini!! I have a few that I've tried:
    http://petitechef.wordpress.com/2009/07/08/zucchini-ribbons-with-parmesan-roasted-red-peppers/
    That ones a little different, but tastes so delicious, I never thought of using zucchini in place of pasta, but it healthier and just as tasty!
    Another zucc vs pasta is the lasagna:
    http://petitechef.wordpress.com/recipes/zucchini-sausage-lasagna/
    Use with or without sausage, but you basically make and layer this just like regular lasagna. YUM-O!
    Great site and pictures! 🙂 Glad to see you're doing ok!

  2. Alice and Morgan

    thanks for the zucchini recipes. I also like to simply cut them in thin rounds and saute with a little butter and garlic. Or add tomatoes too if you want.

    We could carve out the big ones and have canoe races! On the Santa Fe River, where else?

    So glad you are back with us, Amy! Take it easy!

    • beneficialfarmscsa

      Thank you for the cooking tips. It is always helpful to have new ideas that are straight forward to implement. Thanks for your kind thoughts. I am feeling great and trying to rest so that I will heal more quickly.

      –Amy

Leave a Reply

