Remoulade Sauce

The garlic that we received this week seemed like more than a pound!  I love to receive garlic in a CSA share and keep it for the future.  This garlic should last a few months if kept dry.  Garlic is one of those things that I have a bunch of right now because we received a beautiful garlic braid as part of the CSA and I grew my own garlic and have 10 extra heads of purple garlic.  

I started searching for garlic recipes that would not taste very garlic-ky (is that even a word?).  I found a blender remoulade sauce on http://www.myrecipes.com.  It uses 6 cloves of garlic.  This is kind of quirky with all the ingredients, but it works and tastes fantastic.  It also solved my other summer challenge of cooking without making the house hot.  This recipe does make a healthy amount of sauce that you can store in the fridge for two weeks.  So far I have eaten falafel, shrimp cocktail and toasted tortillas with the sauce.  The falafel was actually a fast food that I got at Whole Foods and heated up in the oven for 10 minutes.  You could also eat it on salad, chicken and other fish.

Enjoy the sauce.  Happy Day.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

 

Remoulade Sauce from Amy

You can make this sauce up to several days ahead to serve with peeled, boiled shrimp. Leftover sauce will keep in the refrigerator for 2 weeks and is delicious on sandwiches, chicken or crab cakes, or salad.

Yield

Makes 5 cups

Ingredients

6  garlic cloves, peeled

3  celery ribs, chopped

1/3  cup  white vinegar (I used white wine vinegar)

1/2  cup  egg substitute (I was not sure about this ingredient so I did not include)

1/4  cup  ketchup

1/4  cup  prepared horseradish

1/4  cup  Creole mustard

1/4  cup  yellow mustard

2  tablespoons  mild paprika

2  tablespoons  Worcestershire sauce

1  tablespoon  hot sauce (or to taste)

1  teaspoon  ground red pepper (I used NM Red Chile Powder)

1 1/2  cups  vegetable oil (I used 1/2 cup olive oil)

6  green onions, sliced

Kosher salt and black pepper to taste

Preparation

Process first 12 ingredients in a blender or food processor until smooth. With blender running, pour oil in a slow, steady stream until thickened. Stir in green onions, salt, and black pepper; cover and chill until ready to serve.

Southern Living, APRIL 2004

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

