Bok Choy, Kale and Radish Recipes

This week was a wonderful share with strawberries, greens, bok choy and radishes.  I received two recipes from member Carole in Eldorado on the blog and will post them below.  We have received greens every week this summer season…some people can not eat them all and others buy extra pounds of greens each week.  For me, it all comes down to how I cook the greens.  I like to be challenged with new ingredients, but others may feel like their giant bok choy is staring at them from the fridge waiting for something magical to happen.  This blog is the “something” magical.  I find, collect or create recipes for all the food.  It is great when members tell me recipes in the distributions or email me cooking tips.  Here are recipes below to help you with this week’s food.

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Radish Greens tip from Carole

I had never eaten radish greens, but looking at them, I just knew I could! So I sauteed mine with a little garlic and tamari.

Roasted Radishes by Amy

This week we have bunching radishes with a little more zing than the breakfast radishes last week.  I like eating radishes raw, straight from the garden so I never thought about that many recipes.  The Farmer’s Market in Eldorado has a great group of growers and Green Tractor Farms had bunching radishes.  I bought some and prepped them by cutting off the greens and stem and saving in a sealed container with a damp paper towel.  This will help save radishes for several days.  I had already eaten the breakfast radishes raw and my sister recommended roasting them.  She has done this and said they tasted sweeter.  If you don’t like radishes, you have to try this recipe because you will not know you are eating them. Here is the recipe I created as a side dish.

1 bunch radishes

3 small potatoes (I used up the ones from last month’s distribution, we are getting more next week)

1 red onion

1 head of garlic

Red chile flake

Cut the tops and bottoms off the radishes and wash.  Cut potatoes into cubes about the size of the radishes.  Quarter the onion.  Cut the whole garlic head in half (with the skin and everything on).  Grease a baking dish and all all ingredients.  Add olive oil, kosher salt, pepper and chile flake.  Bake at 450 degrees for 30 minutes.  You will have light pink, sweet radishes!  Enjoy.

Kale recipe from Carole

The greens recipe from Nancy looks great – I do something similar with collards or kale, using onion, balsamic vinegar, garlic, tamari. I add chopped raisins for the sweet touch. (If the greens are at all tough or aged, first I cook them in a little water, then drain and chop before sauteeing).  You can find more kale recipes on this blog using the search feature in the right-hand menu.

Bok Choy and Cheese

I make macaroni and cheese from scratch (recipe is on this blog) and am always trying to use the sauce for other recipes.  I created this one before a 24-hour mountain bike race to use the CSA food.  I actually took the baking dish with us in the RV and cooked for dinner at the race.  Not many racers had heard of bok choy, but all loved this recipe.  Later, I found a similar one online and wanted to share the link with you.

Click here for the recipe

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

