Radish Tips and Greens Recipe

This week we have tips on radishes and a recipe for greens.  Anne is a farmer at Mesa Top farm and has some tips for eating the radishes.  I still have a few greens from last week in my fridge and of course are always looking for new ways to eat spinach and arugula.  Nancy is a member that provided a delicious and easy recipe that is for swiss chard, but you could substitute any of these early greens.  Keep your tips and recipes coming and I will post each week. 

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

This tip comes from Anne at Mesa Top Farm:

This week there is a big, lovely, lucious bunch of radishes and I wanted to make sure everyone knows that they can eat the greens as well as the roots.  I like to make a salad by slicing the roots up and then chopping the greens in as well, then add your favorite dressing. An oil and vinegar is great.  The greens can be a wee bit stickery but the dressing usually takes care of that.  I just eat them root, greens and all right out of the green house.  The greens are also good for cooking. Add them to any soup, stir fry etc and they are a great addition. The  point is don’t throw them out because you can eat them. The greens are really rich, much more nutritious then lettuce and especially on the farm where they are pretty much the earliest vegetable. I never let a bit of green go uneaten after a long winter of cabbage and carrots.

Recipe for Greens from Nancy

Recipe was located online

Prep Time: 10 Minutes 

Cook Time: 20 Minutes 

Ready In: 30 Minutes 

Yields: 4 servings 

 

INGREDIENTS: 

1 large yellow onion, chopped 

2 tablespoons olive oil 

1 teaspoon brown sugar 

1 bunch red Swiss chard, rinsed and chopped 

1/4 cup kalamata olives 

2 tablespoons capers 

1/2 teaspoon coarse sea salt, or to taste 

freshly ground black pepper to taste 

1 lemon, juiced 

 

DIRECTIONS: 

1. In a skillet, cook onions in olive oil over medium-high heat until they begin to brown. Stir in 

brown sugar, and continue cooking for a few minutes. 

2. When onions are brown and tender, stir in chard and olives. Cook until chard is slightly 

wilted. Stir in capers and salt, and continue cooking until chard is completely wilted, about 3 

minutes. Season with black pepper and squeeze lemon over the top. 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Radish Tips and Greens Recipe

  1. Carole Tashel

    I had never eaten radish greens, but looking at them, I just knew I could! So I sauteed mine with a little garlic and tamari.

    The greens recipe from Nancy looks great – I do something similar with collards or kale, using onion, balsamic vinegar, garlic, tamari. I add chopped raisins for the sweet touch. (If the greens are at all tough or aged, first I cook them in a little water, then drain and chop before sauteeing)

  2. Alice and Morgan

    Does anyone know where I can get some fresh rhubarb?( here in SFe?)
    I like to get as much fresh as I can and then freeze some of it.
    We love strawberry-rhubarb pie!

    PS Thanks for the greens recipe. Like Amy, I am always trying ways to fix and eat all our greens. Cooking and freezing for later use seems like the best way, as both Wayne and I are both too busy to have sit down dinners every night.

    BTW I am feeling more energy and generally healthier : from eating better since last Nov when we joined CSA?

  3. Alice and Morgan

    I fry up my green similar to Nancy’s recipe although I add garlic and ginger with a little olive oil. and steam them with a little water,. Great over rice or mixed in with scrambled eggs. I bet they would make a great quiche too.

  4. Alice and Morgan

    that should read “greens” not “green”;it’s very early.

Leave a Reply

