Apple Recipes and Tomato Note

This week we received heirloom tomatoes and they have different colors and different varieties.  The green tomatoes are ripe.  They have a little more intense flavor that is almost sour.  I love them added to salads or you could make a salad with tomatoes, arugula and a soft cheese.

The apples continue to have a wonderful fresh taste, even though some of them have dried a bit.  They will last in the fridge for a few more weeks.  I like to cook with apples so  I sorted my apples into 3 categories.

1- Apples that I will eat fresh
2- The slightly dry apples will become apple chips.  The recipe from Carson is below.
3-  I will use 4 or 5 apples to make applesauce.  I had posted the recipe back in January and have used it several times throughout the winter.  I use it to make a fruit swirl in my yogurt.  It is lower in sugar than the fruit yogurt from the store and organic.

Applesauce recipes from January Blog post
 
click here

Apple Chips- recipe from Carson
This is a great way to dry apples in the oven.  If you have a food dehydrator it would be great as well, but I only have the oven.  I usually plan more items to cook while the apples are in the oven.  You could add sliced tomatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper to roast for 30-40 minutes.

4 apples sliced very thin
Place on a non-stick baking sheet
Bake in the oven at 250 degrees for 2 hours
Turn the oven off and leave the trays in the oven for another hour, or overnight
This will make the apples dry a little more and become chips 

Enjoy the apples!

Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

