Pomegranate Project

pomegranate-vinegarjpgI have used many of the pomegranates in fruit salads, dips and salad dressings but I still had six on my counter last week.  They were great holiday decorations and matched my napkins…so I decided that I needed a new way to eat them.  I did some web searches to find other ideas for the fruit.  One popular idea is to create pomegranate flavored vinegar.  There were simple recipes and more complex ones.  I picked two different recipes and went to work on my project.  The links are below.  I stored them in canning jars.  It takes a few weeks to infuse so I will let you know how they turn out.

Simple Recipe from Path 2 Healthy Living

More Complex Recipe from Vegetarian Times

Add a comment to this entry if you have more ideas for a pomegranate project.

–Amy Hetager, CSA Blogger

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pomegranate Project

  1. Pingback: Cooking Tips and Recipes from Members « Beneficial Farms CSA

  2. Alice Lee

    Lat week CSA member, Mark Perry,made this suggestion about pomegranates: Peel them in a bowl so you won’t lose any of the juice. The pithy parts will float to the top, and the seeds will go to the bottom. I haven’t tried this yet, but I plan to in the very near future.

Leave a Reply

